Central Division

The Central Divisional of the North American GAA is home to a variety of hurling, camogie, and gaelic football clubs in an area centered on Chicago and surrounding suburbs. The Central Division is a regular host of the USGAA Finals, and home to Gaelic Park – one of the largest Gaelic sports and cultural facilities in the USA.
The GAA was first organized in Chicago in 1890 on the west side of the city. The first game, a hurling match between Innisfails and Grattans, took place on Independence Day 1891. By 1893, there were fifteen clubs with a total membership of over two thousand in the city.

Total Clubs

Total Teams

Total Players

Years of History

The following clubs are part of the USGAA Central Division. For more information about any of the clubs, use the contact info provided below, or contact the Central Division Secretary via email – listed at the bottom of the page.

CuChulainns Hurling Club

Senior hurling club

Harry Bolands

Senior hurling club

John McBrides GFC

Men’s Gaelic Football club

Na Aisling Gaels

Ladies Gaelic Football club

Parnell's GFC

Men’s Gaelic Football club (no website available)

St. Brigid's LGFC

Ladies Gaelic Football club

Wolfe Tones

Men’s Gaelic Football club

Erin's Rovers

Ladies Gaelic football

James Joyce GFC

Men’s Gaelic football

Limerick Hurling Club

Hurling on the northside of Chicago

Michael Cusack Hurling Club

Chicago area hurling club.

Padraig Pearses

Men’s Gaelic football

Patriots GFC

Men’s Gaelic football

St. Brendan's GFC

Men’s Gaelic football

St. Mary's Camogie

Chicago senior Camogie club

Contact the Central Division Secretary using the form below.

Contact Division Secretary